About Patience

When my mom said “Patience is a virtue” I never really fully understood what she meant. I still don’t, and I’m not sure she knows, either. I’m not sure we can ever really be “good” at being patient. And what is patience, anyway? Waiting-for-something. Can you patiently wait for the unknown? For a spouse? A best friend? Good news? A new job? A change in your finances? A baby?

Pregnancy has taught me a lot. Like being okay with the fact that I can’t accomplish tasks at the speed I once did. Asking for help and allowing others the opportunity to bless me (food does this really well!). I’ve learned to surrender my body to the process…a very unique, amazing, miraculous experience that only God himself could have designed.

But there’s still a lot I don’t know. I don’t know when this baby will arrive. We are 41 weeks today. A friend recently told me about hitting the point where you just think that baby is never going to come out. Check, I’ve hit that. But the doctor assures me that all babies do eventually make their debut. There is something rather beautiful about God determining when our baby will be born. It’s his to decide.

And this leads me to a discussion on faith. Reading Hebrews 11 today, I was struck by this: “Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen” (v.1). How does patience tie in to faith? I suppose I can be patient for something but yet not be assured that it is going to be. I can be impatient and unassured. I suppose I can even be impatient while being assured. Or, I can be patient because I am assured. I’d like to choose this one.

“And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him” (v. 6). Just chewing on this today.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sara
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 22:52:56

    Go girl! You keep a waitin’! Millie kept me waiting just up to 42 weeks, so I feel ya. Hang in there and can’t wait to hear alllllllll about it! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

