Wheres the Food?

In my efforts to blog more these past few weeks, I’ve realized I have not blogged about food once. I haven’t blogged about food in a while. And this blog is named after an inspiration I had while cooking (http://tinyurl.com/2c3f4wr). It may be that I was so busy as the semester progressed not to take the time. Or it may be that I still don’t have software on my computer for my camera and have to rely on Matt’s. Or it may just be that I haven’t done much cooking these past weeks.

But today I’ve made my favorite Gluten Free Cornbread from the Gluten Free Girl (http://tinyurl.com/29r86ya). And our dear friends, the Thompsons, sent a big box of gluten free goodies to us last week…with a asian stir fry mix just waiting for me in the cupboard.

My brother in law, Tim, used to live with us and was the biggest fan of my cooking (second to Matt). He’s a vegetarian, a bachelor, and a pretty simple guy. So, whenever I’d be making a meal he could enjoy, he’d stand by the stove and waft in the scent…which resulted in cursing exclamations (and sometimes a bit of grunting) about how good the food smelled. It makes me laugh just to think about it! Such a compliment.

Tim sometimes asks me for new recipes. I haven’t had any in quite a while. But with the semester starting tomorrow and a tired palate, I’ve spent the last 3 days searching out new things to try and organizing my Black Book of recipes. So, this one is for you, Timmy. I haven’t tried it yet, but I’m making it this week and I think it suits both our fancies and our budgets:

Chickpea Pasta with Almonds and Parmesan (c/o Real Simple Magazine)

1T olive oil

3 cloves garlic (or 1.5t canned garlic)

7 cups vegetable or chick broth

1/2t crushed red pepper

3/4t salt

1lb pasta

1-15.5oz can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1c flat leaf parsley, chopped (or a couple T dried parsley)

1/4c roasted almonds, chopped

1/2c grated parmesan

To Prepare:

1. Heat oil in large saucepan on med-high. Add the garlic and cook 1 min.

2. Add the broth, pepper flakes, and 3/4t salt and bring to boil.

3. Add the pasta and cook, stirring occasionally for about 6 min until pasta is al dente. Water should absorb.

4. Stir in chickpeas and parsley. When serving, top with parmesan.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tim
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 21:26:30

    [grunt], sounds good! I miss your cooking, Amber! And I enjoying reading about myself on your blog :-D.

    Reply

  2. Kelli Blinn
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 14:43:52

    Hi Amber. To “reintroduce” myself, I met you briefly over the summer at a Bible study at Kelly Rogers’ home. My husband Matt and I got to meet your husband at the Seifferts’ tree-trimming party and I think I might’ve said hi to you, but we didn’t chat. Anyway, a couple Brooksiders have referred me to your blog for gluten-free ideas as my husband and I have learned that gluten could be a key trigger in Psorasis breakouts (a 2+ year battle for us). I’d love to get tips, good recipes, etc. from you if you’re interested in sharing. My email address is kellisblinn@ gmail.com, hope to hear from you sometime.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

