a new thing

Behold, I am doing a new thing;
now it springs forth, do you not perceive it?
I will make a way in the wilderness

and rivers in the desert.   -Isaiah 43:19

…a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert…the Lord is a trailblazer. Talk about creativity and ingenuity. As I’m starting to write papers and tackle midterms, I remind myself over and over, like a broken record, that it is the Lord who empowers me to accomplish these tasks at all.

Matt and I have been talking about what it looks like to be students again (he’s in seminary now) and when things feel overwhelming we know that his only requirement of us is to make a good faith effort in all that we do. And HE will make the way when we can’t see it.

I love the ‘rivers in the desert’, because what desert has a lush, flowing river, filled with life running through it? Our desert, his river. And he calls it a new thing…something he’s never done before, something he does especially for you.

I’m enjoying the discovery of what he’s doing for me. It springs forth. He says it will jump out in front of me, so don’t miss it. I’ve got my eyes wide open Lord, not wanting to let your glory pass by unaware.

Leave a Reply

